NOTICE

CHANGES TO PROPERTY & CASUALTY POLICY FORM FILING FEES

The Louisiana Department of Insurance (LDI) hereby notifies all authorized property and casualty insurers of changes to policy form filing fees due to the recent passage of Act 55 of the 2020 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature.

Act 55 of the 2020 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature takes effect on July 1, 2020, and changes the current multi-tiered filing fees previously utilized by the LDI to a simple per filing per company fee of \$50.

Currently, and until midnight on June 30, 2020, La. R.S. 22:821.B.(10) provides for the following property and casualty form filing fees: \$100.00 per product filing, per company; \$25.00 per endorsement filing, per company; and \$20.00 per filing adoption of each advisory organization's reference or item filing (designation number), per company.

The LDI sought and obtained legislative and gubernatorial approval for a single filing fee of \$50.00 per filing, regardless of what is contained in the filing, e.g. product, endorsement, adoption, informational, withdrawal. The new \$50.00 single filing fee must accompany each filing and is charged on a per company basis.

To reiterate, beginning on 12:01 a.m. on July 1, 2020, each insurer need only pay a single sum of \$50.00 when it makes a filing, regardless of what is contained in the filing.

These changes do not apply to specialty insurers, such as, vehicle mechanical breakdown insurers.

The LDI continues to encourage all insurers to utilize SERFF for the submission of all form filings.

Questions regarding this notice and the implementation of Act 55 that has re-enacted La. R.S. 22:821.B.(10) should be directed to the Office of Property & Casualty, Policy Forms Division, at (225) 342-5203.